Categorized | U-18

Roster named for Lisbon tourney

Posted on 18 May 2009 by ASN Staff

The U.S. U-18 Men’s National Team is set to travel to Portugal later this month, heading across the Atlantic Ocean for games against Finland, Germany and Portugal at the annual Lisbon International, the biggest tournament of the year for the squad. Head coach Mike Matkovich has called in 18 players for the trip, which will commence on May 22. The U.S. will face Finland on May 27, before meeting Germany on May 28. The U-18s will finish the round-robin tournament by matching up with hosts Portugal on May 30. Eight players on the roster are current Development Academy players, with Arsenal FC contributing two players, Dion Acoff and Miles Byass, to the squad. Six players hail from collegiate soccer and Gregory Garza is the only professional player in the ranks. Garza, a veteran of U.S. Soccer’s Under-17 Men’s National Team Residency Program plays for Sporting CP in Portugal. Defender Gale Agbossoumonde, who played in the U.S. U-20 MNT’s successful run through World Cup qualifying, is the only player who is unattached. The games in Portugal will be the first for the U-18s since Matkovich’s team successfully captured the Australian Youth Olympic Festival Title in January. The U.S. defeated Australia and China while tying Chile en route to victory in the four-team round robin tournament earlier this year.

U.S. U-18 MNT Lisbon International Roster

GOALKEEPERS (2): Justin Luthy (Columbus Crew Academy; Dublin, Ohio), Zachary MacMath (Maryland; St. Petersburg, Fla.)
DEFENDERS (6): Gale Agbossoumonde (unattached; Syracuse, N.Y.), Chad Barson (Akron; Lewis Center, Ohio), Paolo Del Piccolo (Colorado Rush AS Monaco; Lakewood, Colo.), Gregory Garza (Sporting CP; Grapevine, Texas), Kofi Sarkodie (Akron; Huber Heights, Ohio), Zarek Valentin (PA Classics; Lancaster, Pa.)
(6): Jose Altamirano (Del Mar Sharks; San Diego, Calif.), Steven Birnbaum (California; Irvine, Calif.), Miles Byass (Arsenal FC; Highland, Calif.), Nicholas Millington (Wake Forest; Raleigh, N.C.), Amobi Okugo (San Juan Lightning Crew; Sacramento, Calif.), Dillon Powers (Andromeda; Plano, Texas)
FORWARDS (4): Dion Acoff (Arsenal FC; Upland, Calif.), Will Bates (Richmond Strikers; Chester, Va.), Hasani Sinclair (Schulz Academy; Coral Springs, Fla.), Justin Watson (Bridge FA; Myrtle Beach, S.C.)

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here