Categorized | U-20

Opara named ACC defender of the year

Posted on 10 November 2009 by ASN Staff

Ike Opara was named the Atlantic Coast Conference’s defensive player of the year today despite missing a large portion of Wake Forest’s season due to the U-20 World Cup. It is the second year in a row Opara has won the award, which the ACC announced today along with its all-conference sides.

The Demon Deacons, who won the league’s regular season title, picked up three other first-team selections, including offensive player of the year Corben Bone. The midfielder was not selected for the World Cup but has figured on U.S. youth national teams before, according to his bio page on Wake Forest’s Web site.
Midfielder Austin da Luz and forward Zach Schilawski were the other Wake players named to the all-conference first team.

Duke University’s Andrew Wenger, last year’s high school player of the year, was named the league’s freshman of the year. Wenger was part of the pre-World Cup roster but does not appear to have figured in the tournament itself.

U-18 goalkeeper Zac MacMath got first team nods, as did his teammate Jason Herrick, North Carolina’s Michael Farfan, Zach Loyd and Billy Schuler (who figured on past U-20 teams as well, most recently in the World Cup qualifying tournament in Trinidad and Tobago) and North Carolina State’s Alan Sanchez.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here