Categorized | U-20

Rongen names four MLS players to squad for Dutch tourney

Posted on 05 May 2010 by ASN Staff

The U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team will travel to Uitgeest, Netherlands, from May 14-25 to compete in the Cor Groenewegan Tournament. U.S. head coach Thomas Rongen will bring 20 players to his native Holland for the competition, which will include four international matches. Though the tournament schedule has not yet been finalized, the U.S. team will play friendly matches against Senegal on May 18 and Korea Republic on May 20.

The 20 American players are based in eight different countries, including four who play in Major League Soccer. The Philadelphia Union’s Jack McInerney and Amobi Okugo have both seen first-team action as rookies in 2010 while Juan Agudelo and Cesar Zamora are still on the brink. Other U.S.-based players include a trio of Zips from the University of Akron in Chad Barson, Zarek Valentin and incoming freshman Perry Kitchen, and Miami FC’s Bryan Dominguez. There is also a pair of Development Academy players in Bryan De La Fuente (Chivas USA Academy) and Moises Orozco (Real So Cal).

Nine players will be traveling to the Netherlands from European clubs, including FIFA U-20 World Cup veteran Gale Agbossoumonde and goalkeeper Samir Badr, both based in Portugal. Parker Walsh and Bobby Wood will both be participating in their first training camp under Rongen and will be traveling from Germany’s Karlsruher SC and 1860 Munich, respectively.

Erik Benjaminsen (Stabek), Cody Cropper (Ipswich Town), Lester Dewee (Olympique Marseilles), Alex Molano (Dinamo Zagreb) and George Pantelic (FK RAD Belgrade) round out the Groenewegan roster.

U-20 USMNT roster by position

GOALKEEPERS (2): Samir Badr (FC Porto; Fairfax, Va.), Cody Cropper (Ipswich Town; Athens, Ga.)
DEFENDERS (7): Gale Agbossoumonde (SC Braga; Syracuse, N.Y.), Chad Barson (Akron; Lewis Center, Ohio), Bryan De La Fuente (Chivas USA Academy; Bell, Calif.), Perry Kitchen (Akron, Indianapolis, Ind.), Kofi Sarkodie (Akron; Huber Heights, Ohio), Zarek Valentin (Akron; Lancaster, Pa.), Parker Walsh (1860 Munich; Irvine, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Erik Benjaminsen (Stabæk; Sandvika, Norway), Lester Dewee (Olympique de Marseille; Kensington, Md.), Bryan Dominguez (Miami FC; Atlanta, Ga.), Alex Molano (Dinamo Zagreb; Grapevine, Texas), Amobi Okugo (Philadelphia Union; Sacramento, Calif.), Moises Orozco (Real So Cal; Oxnard, Calif.), George Pantelic (FK RAD Belgrade; Woodland Hills, Calif.), Cesar Zamora (Chivas USA; Sylmar, Calif.)
FORWARDS (3): Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls; Barnegat, N.J.), Jack McInerney (Philadelphia Union; Alpharetta, Ga.), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich; Irvine, Calif.)

Discuss these and other things with fellow fans on our new USMNT forum!

1 Comments For This Post

  1. Ronni Frogge Says:

    Just desired to say that you have some amazing content on your weblog. If it’s OK I wants to use some with the information you provided on my website. If I link back again to your website would it be OK to do so?

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here