WPS announces 2010 schedule dates

Posted on 02 February 2010 by ASN Staff

Women’s Professional Soccer has finalized the dates of its 2010 WPS Season schedule. This year, the league will expand from a 20-game regular season schedule played in 2009 to a 24-game schedule in which each of the eight WPS teams will feature 12 home games and play the other seven teams in the league three or four times each. Opening weekend will include a full slate of four games on April 10-11 – the first time four WPS games will be played on one weekend – with the regular season running through Sunday, Sept. 12. Games will be played mostly on Saturday evenings and Sundays with a limited schedule of midweek games to be played during the summer months which are expected to start in mid-June. WPS will take a break on the weekend of May 22 for national team commitments and 2011 Women’s World Cup qualifying games.

The WPS Playoffs will follow the same format used during the WPS Inaugural Season with the No. 3 seed hosting the No. 4 on Sunday, Sept. 19 at 2pm ET/11am PT in the WPS First Round. The No. 2 seed will host the winner of the WPS First Round on Sept. 22/23 in the WPS Super Semifinal. The winner of the regular season will play host to the winner of the Super Semifinal as the No. 1 seed in the 2010 WPS Championship on September 26 at 2pm ET/11am PT. Seedings will be based on the final 2010 WPS Regular Season standings in a single, eight-team table.

The 2010 WPS All-Star Game presented by the U.S. Coast Guard has been moved to mid-season to fall in line with other professional leagues and is scheduled for June 30. The location and format will be announced at a later date.

The full 2010 WPS Season Schedule and Fox Soccer Channel’s WPS Sunday on FSC national broadcast schedule will be released in mid-February.

2010 WPS Regular Season – Key Dates

Try-outs Begin: March 1
Preseason Camp Officially Opens (Preseason Rosters/Schedule Announced): March 7
Roster Cut-Down Date (rosters reduced from 28 to 24 players): March 15
Opening Roster Due Date (18 roster + 4 optional development players): March 31
Regular Season Begins: April 10/11
Bye Weekend (no WPS games): May 22
2010 WPS All-Star Game presented by U.S. Coast Guard: June 30
Regular Season Ends: September 12

WPS Playoffs

WPS First Round: Sunday, September 19 (2pm ET/11am PT)
WPS Super Semifinal: Wed/Thu, September 22/23
2010 WPS Championship:
Sunday, September 26 (2pm ET/11am PT)

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here